Log in
Legislative Committee 2016 - 2017
Contact: Davena Norris,

Committee Description:

The Legislative Committee is charged with educating the membership and the Board about legislative and regulatory issues.  They monitor state and federal legislative and regulatory activities. They are also present at the Pharmacy Legislative Day.

Committee News:
 The NMSHP Legislative Committee teamed up with UNM College of Pharmacy students to meet with state lawmakers during the UNM Legislative Day on January 30th. Over 25 student pharmacists participated, and we were able to meet with 14 legislators. Our main focus was advocating for HB 84 “Reimbursement Parity for Pharmaceutical Clinical Services” and SB 10 “Ban Discrimination Against Health Care Practitioners”. **See attached picture of Senator Soules with four student pharmacists***.

For more information, please contact Davena Norris at

Committee Members:
 Chair: Davena Norris, PharmD, Chair - Las Cruces
Davena Norris is a Clinical Pharmacist at Memorial Medical Center in Las Cruces. Upon graduating from the UNM College of Pharmacy in 2012, she completed a PGY1 pharmacy residency at the Southern Arizona VA Healthcare System in Tucson. In her current position, Davena works collaboratively with a family medicine team to manage medication therapy in both inpatient and ambulatory settings. She has many teaching roles, including Program Coordinator for the MMC Pharmacy Residency Program, a faculty member for the Southern NM Family Medicine Residency Program, and preceptor for the UNM College of Pharmacy. Her passion for policy and advocacy began as a student pharmacist where she served on the APhA-ASP Policy Standing Committee and as a Regional Delegate. As the NMSHP Legislative Committee Chair, a few of her greatest ambitions include achieving provider status for pharmacists, increasing pharmacist involvement on interprofessional teams, and expanding the roles of pharmacy technicians.
Janet Reese, PharmD, Co-Chair  - Las Vegas

Janet Reese is the Director of Pharmacy at Alta Vista Regional Hospital in Las Vegas, New Mexico.  A graduate of University of New Mexico BS in Pharmacy, she will graduate from the Non-Traditional PharmD in May 2016.  She has practiced and managed in the retail, oncology, and hospital settings.

 Jennifer Rose, PharmD, Secretary - Las Cruces

Jennifer Rose received her Pharm. D. at the University of New Mexico in 2014, after which she completed a PGY1 residency at Memorial Medical Center, in Las Cruces, NM. Now she works with the hospitalist group at Memorial Medical Center rounding on their patient’s and attending the daily interdisciplinary meetings.

Amy Buesing, PharmD - Las Cruces

Amy S. Buesing, BS-Pharm, MBA is Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences for the UNM College of Pharmacy and Director of the UNM/NMSU Cooperative Pharmacy Program.   As Director, Amy’s responsibilities include providing general oversight and actualizing goals of the UNM/NMSU Cooperative Pharmacy Program based in Las Cruces, New Mexico.  Amy has over twenty-five years of experience in hospital pharmacy operations and management.  Her areas of interest include medication safety, regulatory issues related to pharmacy practice in New Mexico and mentoring/advising pre-pharmacy students.

M. Gabriela Cabanilla, PharmD

Fiona Chao, PharmD, BCPS - Shiprock

Fiona Chao is a clinical pharmacist at Northern Navajo Medical Center (NNMC) in Shiprock, NM. She graduated from the Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey and went on to complete a PGY1 residency at NNMC. In addition to being a residency and student preceptor, she is the Student Program Coordinator for NNMC Pharmacy and collaborates with over 13 pharmacy schools to host more than 25 students each school year for their advanced pharmacy practice experience.

Fitz Glasgow, PharmD 

Fitz is the Director of Pharmacy for the Rehabilitation and Advanced Care Hospitals of Southern New Mexico in Las Cruces, NM.  , Fitz works collaboratively with interdisciplinary teams from both Rehab and Acute Care settings to provide quality, safe, and clinically-minded in-patient medication to his patients. Fitz is a new to the legislative committee and is looking forward to representing his profession and expanding the roles of pharmacy technicians.  He is 2009 Graduate of the University Of New Mexico College Of Pharmacy.  

 Scott Graham, PharmD - Albuquerque

Scott currently serves as Chief Pharmacy Officer for Presbyterian Healthcare Services in Albuquerque, NM, where he is responsible for both inpatient and ambulatory pharmacy services.  He is a graduate of Ohio University and Ohio Northern University, Raabe College of Pharmacy.  Prior to joining Presbyterian, Scott has been in leadership positions in his career in a variety of settings including serving as director of pharmacy for the largest home infusion provider in New Hampshire, Director of Pharmacy Operations for Lovelace outpatient pharmacies, and as Assistant Vice President of Pharmacy Services for Carolinas HealthCare System based in Charlotte, NC.

Scott has a passion for promoting the advancement of pharmacy services in the health system setting, and oversaw the development of pharmacist-led clinics directed toward improving population health. In his current role, Scott is promoting the advancement of pharmacist clinicians through credentialing and privileging as advance practice professionals in acute care settings, as well as being utilized as physician extenders in the ambulatory space. In addition, Scott’s background in Lean methodologies is being utilized to foster process improvement activities throughout Presbyterian’s pharmacy enterprise.

William Havins, CPhT

William Havins is the Pharmacy Technology Program Director and Pharmacy Technician Instructor at Central New Mexico Community College.  Prior to accepting the role as Program Director, he was the Clinical Coordinator for the program.  He has been employed at CNM since 2002.  He was previously employed at Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. as a pharmacy technician and OTC manager for 13 years.  At Wal-Mart, he trained other pharmacy technicians and OTC managers in the Albuquerque area and throughout the state.  He began working as a “pharmacy clerk” in Arizona during his junior year in High School.  He became nationally certified through PTCB in 1995.  He is dedicated to enhancing the pharmaceutical care of patients provided by pharmacists through the education of pharmacy technicians. 

Kim Neff, PharmD
 Robert Ringer, PharmD -   Albuquerque

Rob Ringer received his Bachelor’s degree in Pharmacy in 1995 from the University of New Mexico, and his Pharm. D. from the University of Colorado in 2005.  In the past he has worked in nuclear pharmacy and hospital pharmacy, and now with the VA Cooperative Studies Program Clinical Research Pharmacy working on several multi-center clinical trials.

Traci White, PharmD - Las Cruces

Traci White is the Assistant Director of the UNM/NMSU Cooperative Pharmacy Program and Pharmacist Clinician at Mesilla Valley Hospice in Las Cruces.  She graduated from UNM College of Pharmacy in 2006 and went on to complete a PGY1 residency at the University of Washington in Seattle.  Traci returned to Las Cruces in 2007 where she worked as an oncology pharmacist prior to her current clinical position at hospice where she provides pharmacologic symptom management for end-of-life care.  As an assistant professor at UNM COP, she provides lectures in the Pharmacotherapy block and serves as a preceptor for pharmacy students and residents.  Traci’s areas of interest include advancing pharmacy practice, pain management and palliative care. 


 © New Mexico Society of Health-System Pharmacists

8201 Golf Course Rd NW,

Ste D3 Box # 272

Albuquerque, NM 87120

Phone: (505) 318-0223 or (505) 318-0124

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software